The Accountant General’s Department (AGD) currently processes the payroll for thirteen (13) Ministries/Departments/Agencies. This amounts to approximately 3,100 employees. This function is recognized and acknowledged by the Financial Administration and Audit (FAA) Act Instructions  in Section 9.7 which states  that the Accountant General is authorized to pay monthly salaries on behalf of Central Government  Ministries and Departments.

The Public Salaries Salaries Unit also pays over personal salary deductions on behalf of these employees on a monthly basis to approved financial institutions.  According to FAA Act Instructions (Section these deductions shall be paid to the authorized financial institutions or credited to the appropriate Government accounts within 5 working days of the effective date of deductions (after pay date).

The Public Salaries Unit is responsible for the payment of the salaries of employees to the following Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs)

  1. Accountant General’s Department
  2. Houses of Parliament
  3. Ministry of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport
  4. Ministry of Finance and Public service
  5. Ministry of Labour and Social Security
  6. Ministry of Science Energy & Technology
  7. Ministry of Tourism
  8. Ministry of Welfare
  9. Office of the Cabinet
  10. Office Of The Governor General
  11. Office of the Prime Minister
  12. Office of the Services Commissions
  13. Tax Administration of Jamaica

According to Financial Administration and Audit Act Instruction 5.28, monthly paid employees of the Government of Jamaica shall be paid on the 25th day of each month. In cases where this day falls on a Friday, Saturday, Sunday or Monday, pay day shall be the Thursday immediately preceding. Specific directions will be given for payments in respect of the months of December and March.